‘More than just a World T20 semi-final: The Historical Significance of West Indies v India’ – my match preview for First Post

31st March 2016

Prospects of Play – match previews

The 2016 ICC World T20 tournament

For First Post during the T20 World Cup I am covering and reporting on the West Indies.

Ahead of the big semi-final between India and West Indies, I looked back at previous encounters between the two sides.

Contests in 1976 and 1983 were defining points in each’s sporting history – and shaped the future of of that nation’s cricket.

You can read my match preview piece here.

And there are several more articles regarding the tournament, and features on many of the other sides here.

David Oram

4 thoughts on “‘More than just a World T20 semi-final: The Historical Significance of West Indies v India’ – my match preview for First Post

  1. realthog

    Woot for the Windies winning the semifinal;I must admit that. when I saw on Cricinfo that Gayle had fallen first ball, my immediate assumption was that this was going to be India’s night. Congrats to the Windies that it proved otherwise.

    If you’d asked me to lay money a few days ago, I’d have bet on an NZ/India final — which would have been disappointing because two of the tournament’s three most inspiring teams wouldn’t have been there. (OK, four, if you count Afghanistan.) Now, while I’m sad the Kiwis didn’t make it (a three-team final, anyone?), I’m delighted by the contest in store. And I’d not like to bet which way it’ll go.

    Reply
  2. David Oram Post author

    Thanks for your comments! And apologies for the delay in replying – my PC died this last week, and I’m only just getting back on top of things!
    Obviously as an Englishman I was disappointed – but I got over it quickly! Fantastic for WIndies, and the Caribbean people – they deserve the chance to bask in a bit of glory again. I doubt I’d have felt the same way if it’d been an Aussie smacking us for four successive sixes though! All the best!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

